Veggies with a twist

The other day I was going through the Thrifty Foods Wellness Insert and I came across some neat things you can do with vegetables. I thought I would share them with you because along with exercise I do love food.

Do you have a spaghetti squash at home? If so, cut the squash in half, lengthwise. Place face down in a little water on a cookie sheet and back at 350F for 40 minutes. Scrape the flesh with a fork and you then have spaghetti-like noodles. Top with marinara sauce and if you want to add some veggies like mushrooms, onions, and peppers in the sauce along with some spices.

One of my co-workers brought in some zucchini to work last week so we may be making our zucchini like this one evening this week.. Strip zucchini using a hand-held vegetable peeler to make noodle-like pieces. Saute over medium heat for 2 to 3 minutes and minx in pesto sauce. I think I would serve this with a chicken breast on the side or even cut up in it. Mmmm…delish.

Image

Instead of making rice for your next meal maybe try cauliflower rice. Shred cauliflower and add a seasoning such as curry powder or sea salt. Add to an oiled skillet on medium heat and cook for about 5 minutes. Add a piece of chicken on the side or a pork chop perhaps?

These are just a few of the ones that I read that interested me. Those of you with kids may get your kids to eat some veggies and they won’t even know it.

If you try one of these let me know.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

