Less sweets and more sweating

It has been a few days since I have posted and I figured it was time to get myself writing again.

On November 1st I decided it was time I got myself back in gear with my eating habits before December hits with all the chocolates and yummy goodness that comes with the holidays. Some of you are probably asking why start November 1st then and why not wait until after the holidays? Well, because I need to be able to say no before December arrives. I used to have will power and then it slowly crept away.

On Wednesday I met Emily for a run in the morning before work. We ran 8k together before she needed to get home to get ready for work. I still had an hour before I needed to be home so I kept running. It was a warm morning and I was feeling good. I didn’t have my iPod but I had a song playing in my head and I was enjoying the morning. By the time I got home I had run 20k. I felt great and shocked I had gone that far because it had been awhile since I had just gone out and ran like that in the morning.

I decided that along with cutting out sweets I also wanted to make some changes to my workouts. I wanted to increase cardio and I still lift weights but how was I going to get it all done in the morning? I tried doing just cardio in the morning and then going after work to lift weights and do some core work. I go right by the gym so why not make a stop in the evening for a half hour or so? Doing this worked and I felt good while at the gym but  it wasn’t what I really wanted to do. I am not a fan of evening workouts or riding Huli home in the darkness of the night. Funny thing is that I don’t mind riding in the dark to the gym in the morning. Strange I know but it’s the same reasons why I like running in the morning and not in the evening. There aren’t a lot of people around, I can take in the quietness of the morning and not have to worry so much about traffic. It is my time and I also feel lighter in the morning.

This morning I got up at 3:30am because the cats are all messed up with the time change so they are at us even earlier than they typically are. Not cool but we are hoping they will start to ‘sleep in’ soon. Because I was up so early I was able to get everything ready for the day and get myself out the door by 5:00am. The gym opens at 5:30am, so I have decided my new routine will be to arrive for then. I liked my workout this morning and it felt good. The best part was that I could go straight home after work. One of the reasons I like working out in the mornings is because if something comes up in the evening I can go and not worry about when I am going to sweat.  I then don’t feel guilty for not doing it.

So, I am 6 days into my new challenge for myself and I am happy with the way things are going. I look forward to working hard and seeing the results. I will allow myself a treat now and then but will make sure that it is one that I really want and not something I eat just because it is there or everyone else is having something.

This weekend Warren and I are headed to Seattle. I have never been there before and very excited about the trip. I am also looking forward to running and exercising in a new place. I find I always have a new energy because there are many things to see and explore. We have already mapped out some routes with MapMyRun.

So, what is your goal for November? Are you making any changes to your routines or eating habits?

PS. 11 days until I run the Bear Mountain 10k.

 

3 thoughts on “Less sweets and more sweating

    1. You did better than me with resisting the Halloween candy. I caved but that was what got me looking at myself and seeing that I needed to get back on track. So, in the end it was a good thing so to speak. Good luck to you as well.

      Like

Leave a Reply

