Distracted by the lights

So, this morning when I woke up I started thinking about going for a run outside instead of making my way to the gym. It had been a while since I had done a long morning run and I was feeling the need. Running on the treadmill for over an hour is just is not enjoyable no matter what tunes I have playing on my iPod or how much I try and talk myself through it.

I checked the Weather Network app on my phone and it said 4 degrees but feels like 2. At least there wasn’t a minus in front of that 2. As I went downstairs at 5:00am and opened the door I was prepared to feel the cold air hit my body but to my surprise it wasn’t bad. It was warm compared to the last two mornings when Huli and I headed to the gym.

As I headed to the road I looked up at the sky. It was bright and I could see a cloud in the glow of the moon. It was really beautiful. I had my bike light in my hand but I didn’t need it because of the moonlight and lights for the majority of my run.

I had mapped out a bit of a different route in my head because I am not a fan of out and back type runs.  Even though some of my run was the same area as I typically run it was ‘new’ this morning. With Christmas less than a month away people have put up their lights and decorations so as I ran I got to see those. They made running even more enjoyable this morning.

Seeing all the lights and decorations up made me think of my Nan and when my sister and I were kids she would take us to see all the Christmas lights and decorations. I grew up in Nova Scotia so there was typically snow covering the lights as well so it gave them that extra ‘specialness’ so to speak.

I was distracted by looking at the lights and my tunes that I lost myself in my run. By the time I was nearing the end of my run I could feel my legs were tired so I felt good. I checked my watch when I got home and I had run 18k. I hadn’t even realized I had been running that long.

I enjoy my mornings, my time and taking it all in. What is the best part of your day?

 

2 thoughts on “Distracted by the lights

Leave a Reply

