Changing up your typical resolutions for 2013

GoalsThis morning I was at the gym on the elliptical and I was thinking about our get together with friends on New Year’s Eve at our house. We are having the 2nd annual anti-dancing, make your own pizza and sundae party. The anti-dancing part was put in the title the first year by Warren so we have to keep with tradition, even if it has only been one year. This year though to ensure no one dances he ordered a strobe light. Yes, I am positive that will mean no one will dance again this year. Ha!

On New Year’s Eve the majority of people make up resolutions for the new year which more times than not they don’t follow through with. I have to say that I have been one of those people as well. Typical resolutions are:

  • go to the gym
  • go on a diet
  • no sweets or junk food
  • quit smoking
  • quit drinking
  • get out of debt

and the list goes on. This year I decided that instead of making resolutions I am going to make some goals that I want to achieve. From January to April my goal will be that I want to run the Frontrunners Island Series Races a little faster than I did in 2012. I am not going to try and shave off minutes for each race but if I am faster by a second or two I would be happy with that.  My next goal goes hand and hand with the first for 2013. If after finishing a race I see my time and I haven’t beat my time from 2012 than I won’t be discouraged and just be happy that I ran my run and I was out there doing it. This past series I got upset with myself the first few races if I didn’t do well or what I thought I should have done. But I got some good advice from Warren and when I was ready to accept that he was right it benefited me. I will take his advice again this year and apply it to my first race.

I would like to come up with a few short term goals to keep me motivated and inspired. I would like to find something from May-August and then September -December. I am not sure what those goals are yet but I can start looking into what they could be to give myself something to look forward to. Once I know I will let you know.

So, the reason why I mentioned our party was because I was thinking that I would ask my friends who are going to think of a goal or two that they want to achieve this year instead of a resolution and let me know what they are. I could then touch base with them and see if they are keeping on track if they wanted. I understand that just because it has a different name doesn’t mean that you can’t fall off the goal wagon either but I am going to give it a go and if anyone wants support I am there for them.

So, any of you want to set goals for 2013 and let me know what they are? Changes ahead

3 thoughts on “Changing up your typical resolutions for 2013

  1. This is a very positive way to reframe things, Kyla. I think setting reasonable goals with timeframes, i.e., four months makes so much more sense, and is something we are more likely to achieve. I’ll have to give some thought to a couple of goals in the week ahead and then share with you so you can kick my butt now and then. Thanks for sharing your insight!!

    Like

    1. Great. Glad you like the different way of thinking about it. So many things can change from January to December that setting small goals seems doable. Looking forward to hearing your goals.

      Like

Leave a Reply

