What beat do you run to?

On Sunday after I posted about the Cobble Hill 10k race, I was asked by one of my friends to write a blog about my tunes and what is on my playlist. Well, Margot, here is that blog.

I see runners at the races who don’t run with an iPod and I wonder how they can do it? I know for myself that don’t want to hear my sneakers hitting the pavement and I don’t want to hear myself gasping for air as I make my way through the race. I also know or feel that I need the tunes to motivate and distract me a bit as I run. I do now have 3 of my girlfriends running in the series this year and as we pass each other they wave and give words of encouragement which I love.

The day or two before I race I always make up a new playlist. They could be songs from previous playlists that I had for races or they could be new songs that I download that day. Either way they have to have a good beat, or what I consider a good beat, and they have to make me want to dance, even if I am sitting. And if a song makes me smile…then it is on there for sure. Sometimes the songs I put on my playlists remind me of a road trip Warren and I have been on and we heard the song on the radio for the first time or they could be songs that I have listened to with friends before a girls night out. Either way the song is there to make me wanna run.

Here is a list of a few of my songs I like:

Grace Kelly by Mika

Shake It by Metro Station

Who Says by Selena Gomez and The Scene

Back in Time by Pitbull

Bang Bang Bang by Selena Gomez

Favorite Song by Colbie Caillat  featuring Common

I Do by Colbie Caillat

Domino by Jessie J

Dance With Me Tonight by Olly Murs

Brighter Than the Sun by Colbie Caillat

Love You Long Time by The Black Eyed Peas

Our Song by Taylor Swift

We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together by Taylor Swift

Bounce by Calvin Harris featuring Kelis

Springsteen by Eric Church

Peacock by Katy Perry

Hummingbird Heartbeat by Katy Perry

Call Me Maybe by Carly Rae Jepsen

Whistle by Flo Rida

Shut Up and Dance by Victoria Duffield

Dance Again by Jennifer Lopez featuring Pitbull

Starships by Nicki Minaj

She’s So Mean by Matchbox TwentyRun to the beat

Brokenhearted by Karmin

Touch Me by SMASH Cast featuring Katherine McPhee

Cheers (Drink to That) by SMASH Cast featuring Katherine McPhee

Sexy And I Know It by LMAFO

With Ur Love by Cher Lloyd featuring Mike Posner

Pontoon by Little Big Town

Kiss You by One Direction

I Knew You Were Trouble by Taylor Swift

Girlfriend by Avril Lavigne

Who’s That Chick by David Guetta featuring Rihanna

Shake Senora by Pitbull featuring T-Pain and Sean Paul

T.H.E (The Hardest Ever) by Will I Am featuring Mick Jagger & Jennifer Lopez

The list could go on but maybe I will save that for a ‘What beat do you run to? Part 2.’

What is on your play list? Please share with me because I am always on the search for new beats.

Leave a Reply

