Different meaning of Valentine’s Day

Pickle
Sharon…AKA Pickle and I on my wedding day. Best friend a girl could have.

Valentine’s Day…what does it mean to you?

For me this year Valentine’s Day wasn’t a day or evening spent with my husband since he is away but it was a day spent with my co-workers and doing things that I love doing. My friend Sharon sent a text on Thursday evening that helped me see that (thanks Pickle) and that is the reason for this blog post.

Valentine’s Day has many different meanings to people. Some people spend it with their significant other, others spend with it friends and some spend it solo. My Valentine’s Day isn’t about gifts and being romanced and I am happy with that. If Warren would have been home we would have just enjoyed making dinner together and relaxing.

Instead I spent the day with my co-workers who I have a great relationship with and enjoy working with very much. We shared some laughs, some chocolate and it was a good day. Before we left the office I said to them; ‘Where this is a day of love I just thought I would let you all know that I love working with all of you and I think you guys are great.’ They were all appreciative and let me know they love working with me too.  That may sound odd that I said that…but that is who I am. As Warren would say I wear my heart on my sleeve. I think it is nice to let people know you appreciate them and the little things in life are the big things sometimes.

When I came home from work I had to get ready to be a run leader for the TC 10k Learn to Run Group that I am now helping out with. Before I left I got a text from Sharon wishing me a Happy Valentine’s Day and I told her what I was up to and then headed off to Frontrunners. The group was faster this week than last and there were less people out. They were home with their loved ones enjoying their evening together.  It was nice running with the smaller group because we ran together and I got to know a few more people. Even reconnected with a familiar face from the week before.

On my way home from the run I stopped at the grocery store to get a few things and decided to treat myself since it was Valentine’s Day. I got a small amount of Chocolate Covered Jujubes and enjoyed them on my walk home. I was happy.

When I got home there was a text from Sharon in response to mine. She said she was sorry that Warren wasn’t home but at least I was doing something I loved. And she was right.  I was doing something that I love…running and motivating others to be the best that they can be and improve.

love_hearts
Love comes in many different ways

So, my Valentine’s Day was different than the typical stereotype of the day but it was still full of love. How was your Valentine’s Day?

2 thoughts on “Different meaning of Valentine’s Day

Leave a Reply

