Was one of your resolutions or goals to run or walk?

Did you make a New Year’s resolution or as I like to call them a goal on January 1st to be more active, to lead a healthier lifestyle? Or maybe you were going to get yourself and your kids active or more active? And maybe some of you were going to enter a run/race? If you answered yes to any of these questions and you live on Vancouver Island and the surrounding area then I have a run/walk that can get you started. Register yourself and encourage anyone else you want with you.

On Saturday, March 16 I am taking part in the LifeMark Esquimalt 5k Fun Run & Walk. I have never done this run before but thought I would give it a try. It is only 5k and I would be running that morning anyway so why not do it with a bunch of people? I don’t typically send out invites for people to run because most people won’t take me up on it. This time though I decided that I would. I have asked my friends and family if they would like to do it and have gotten two of my co-workers, Tanya and Kate to sign up. One guys who works at the gym mentioned to me that he would like to try a run but feels a bit nervous to do one. I mentioned that this run could be a perfect one to try. He hasn’t said for sure he is going to register but I am hoping he does.

fun run1I have also recruited one of my aunt’s who has registered for the run/walk and I am excited about that. I know that she is thinking about getting back into running after many years away from it. I have also asked my mother and father-in-law to be part of it as well and I am hoping they register. I also know some friends from the Island Running Series and their spouses will be taking part so it should be a good morning with lots of familiar faces as well as new ones to me.

Do you have a child who could do the 1k fun run/walk? If so sign them up and bring the whole family. Both races end at the same place or even run/walk the 1k with your child and motivate and encourage them along. The look on their face when they have crossed the finish line I am sure would be worth a lot. I always think it is great to see young kids out running. They just seem to make it look so easy and they just go. It makes me smile as I run and see them.

Need another reason to register besides being active? If you sign with Endomondo, which is free database online where you can track your workouts. Esquimalt Recreation use it for a way to give you a chance to win prizes weekly. Last Friday I ended up winning a LifeMark Health 60 minute acupuncture treatment and all I had to do was workout and log my workouts. Pretty simple and who doesn’t like to try and win things?

This coming Sunday, March 10th at 10:30am you can go and do a warm-up run and see the new 5k route. I unfortunately won’t be able to make it because I have the Bazan Bay 5k race that is part Island Running Series but I hope everyone running has a great day. I look forward to seeing the route on the 16th.

My blog may sound a bit like I am part of the people organizing it but I am not. I just think it is important to be active and this run seems like one that would be a good place to start. You never know unless you try and maybe once you do it will want to try another run or walk.

So, who now wants to take part in the fun run/walk on March 16?

I hope to see you there.

2 thoughts on “Was one of your resolutions or goals to run or walk?

    1. Thanks W. I just really want people to know that they can do anything if they try. Start simple and go from there.

      Also, it’s by this time that people have forgotten about goals and resolutions so I am just trying to motivate again. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

