Why I go to bed at Kyla o’clock

This week when talking to two friends of mine they have both mentioned that they have changed the time that they would normally go to bed because of exercise. It made me smile to be honest because so many people question why I go to bed so early and why I get up at Kyla o’clock.

My typical bedtime is usually between 8:30-9:00pm but that doesn’t mean you wouldn’t find me falling asleep while watching TV or just going to bed earlier. If I am tired and am home to go to bed…I will. I don’t see the reason in fighting sleep. It is your body telling you that you need it.

falling asleep
This is how I used to feel at work sometimes.

Before I met Warren though my typical bedtime was between 10:30pm-11:30pm and I would get up at 5:45am to go to the gym a few mornings a week. I didn’t see anything wrong with this because I was busy doing day-to-day things and household chores. I didn’t sit for very long so I never got to realize I was really tired.

Some days though when I was at work I would find that I was almost falling asleep at but really didn’t understand why? I thought I was getting enough sleep.

In the last five years since living in Victoria I have changed my lifestyle and there are a few days now and again that I feel tired at work and it could be due to a bad night of sleep but the majority of the time I am rested and good for the day.

On Thursday at lunch I went walking with Andrea and she told me that she started swimming with a friend at Crystal Pool on Monday, Wednesday and Friday mornings. Her friend picks her up and takes her and Andrea mentioned that since she gets picked up she has no excuse not to go. Knowing someone else is going to be counting on you to be at the gym or the pool, in this case is good and keeps you accountable and motivated.

As we were walking Andrea mentioned that she gets up at 5:30am for swimming and by the time 9:30pm or sooner comes around she is too tired to stay up any longer. She then said she can see now why I go to bed so early and laughed. I said…’See, I told you so.’

Last night I text my friend Christina to tell her I was proud of her for being so dedicated to health, fitness and eating well. She made a goal for herself at the beginning of the year and she is sticking with it. I think it is nice to let someone know when you think they are doing well and to encourage. Kind of a pay it forward.

Back in December she mentioned on Facebook that she was going to try a new boot camp and was looking for others to try it out with her. Both Warren and I went and Warren stuck with it before he went away to Halifax. I went for the one week free trial  but decided it wasn’t for me. When Christina and I chatted before she mentioned to me that she would only be going on Monday evenings because she had run club and other commitments through the week. I found out last night that she now goes to boot camp on Monday, Tuesday and Thursday evenings and then on Saturday mornings and Saturday mornings are becoming her favorite because she gets an extra ‘boot’. Christina has run club with her ‘Rubbies’ on Sunday morning so she now finds that her Friday and Saturday night are not what they used to be. She as well has to go to bed early so she can get up to exercise.cartoon-bed

I think it is great that they both have adopted an earlier bedtime so they can get up and be active and feel good before their day starts.

Do you go to bed early or do you stay up late? What gets you out of bed in the morning?

Leave a Reply

