Race day routine

Happy Sunday!

Today’s Bazan Bay 5k race day! It’s the fifth race of the Island Series and this run is part of the Timex National Road Race Series so that means there will be even more runners racing; over 800 runners registered. So, my legs better be ready to boogie  today if I want to try to place in the top 10 of my age group. I will go out and run my run and do the best that I can do.

This morning when I woke up I thought for a moment that my cats had let me sleep in when I looked at my phone. But then I remembered that it was Spring ahead for the time change and then realized that this was the ‘normal’ time Lucky would wake me. I got up and fed them and went back to bed for another hour.

Once I was up for the morning I made coffee and had my two cups. I don’t like the taste of coffee and food at the same time so I always drink my coffee before I eat. I then had my two pieces of toast with peanut butter and a banana on the side. While I eat I then get my playlist ready with new songs and make sure my iPod and Garmin watch are charged up and ready to go.

RoutineNext is to get showered and ready to run. I wear the same thing each race so once it is washed from the last race I put it in my bag so I know it is ready to grab day of. Not sure why I wear the same thing? Maybe so I can find myself in a picture easily or maybe it is just me being me and one of my quirks. Who knows but it works for me so I don’t want to change it up.

Before I leave I grab my water bottle so I can have a few sips of water on my way to the race. I don’t drink a lot of water the morning of the race cause I have read that you should be hydrated from the day before and I also find if I drink a lot of fluids before I run I start to get a side stitch. Maybe the stitch is for another reason? I don’t know but that is what I think.

Once I am ready it is off to the car and then to where ever my race destination is. Race day mornings are the same for me and I like that I have found what works for me.

What do you do on race day? Do you have routine or things that you always to do the same? Or do you vary it up and try something new? Let me know what works for you.

PS. Writing a blog isn’t typically part of my race day routine but my race is closer today and I felt inspired this morning.

Leave a Reply

