The power of music

Today in the office we were talking about singing and music and for those of you who know me know that I work in the School of Tourism at Royal Roads University. So, what do this have to do with my job?

One of my co-workers, Melody is a member of the choir at work and another of my other co-workers, Kate really likes to sing as well. I enjoy singing but as Warren once said to me one day as I was belting out a tune in the car, ‘It is too bad you can’t sing because you know all the words.’  Now that may sound mean to you but it is true and on the day he said it I laughed and still do when I think about it. But not being able to sing well doesn’t stop me if I hear a song I like or if I am sitting at my desk and a song comes to mind. Some days Kate and I just start singing randomly and it always makes people laugh. In the song One Week by Barenaked Ladies I like to start randomly singing this part of the song:

Chickity China the Chinese chicken
You have a drumstick and your brain stops tickin’
Watchin’ X-Files with no lights on
We’re dans la maison
I hope the Smoking Man’s in this one…

http://www.roneinhaus.com/dancing%20chicken.jpeg
What I could look like if I was a chicken dancing to my beats

But because I didn’t know the last line I always say…De ne ne ne neer neer

Melody was telling me about how she had gone to choir on Thursday during her lunch break and she was signing a song with a group of people and holding hands. The song was called ‘Hold On’ and it really moved her because to her, holding hands is a sign of trust and the people she was holding hands with were complete strangers. She found the song was a release of tension and she came back to the office feeling better than when she had left.

I told her that music has many benefits for me. Sometimes if I am feeling down or stressed and I am at work I will put my headphones on and listen to the radio. If I am at home I will put my iPod on and usually sing and clean. Washing dishes and my beats can be a great combo for me.  Why? I am not sure but I am happy that I have found and outlet that works for me. Or on the other hand if I need to feel motivated for a workout I will put one of my favorite songs as I am getting ready and can be found dancing  and grooving at home. I use my beats to motivate and inspire me when I am running in races as well.

Music seems to both calm me and energize me.

What does music do for you?

One thought on “The power of music

  1. Agreed. Music helps in so many areas of life! As a kid, we used to clean the house, while listening to ABBA records. Now, I usually have music on while exercising, cooking, or when friends come over to visit. Helps to lighten the mood! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

