Running to get out of my own way

This morning I woke up feeling grumpy and in my own way. This was not how I wanted to start my morning.  I am on a road trip with Warren and enjoying the sights and sounds. Yesterday, and some of today we drove along the Oregon Coast and we are now into California. So, why was I cranky?

After waking up feeling that way I knew exactly what I needed to do. I had some coffee in our hotel room, put on my workout gear, my sneakers, and then searched for my iPod. I was certain I had it but where was it? I had looked in all the places I thought I had packed it and then started to get tears in my eyes because I was frustrated I couldn’t find it.  Some of you are probably reading this and thinking it’s weird that I was crying over an iPod? Well, for me I knew that I needed to run and get lost in my music to turn my brain off. And without the music I felt I would struggle to do just that. I ended up finding it in my backpack that was in the car.

The plan was for me to go for a run and then come back and do a workout with Warren at the gym called ’12 Days of Hell’. The gym opened at 7am so, I had 45 minutes to run and get myself in both mentally and physically in better shape. I headed out to the main street and turned left. I had no idea where I was going but knew that I had time to do some exploring of Coos Bay, Oregon.  The sun was rising over the water behind our hotel and it was a warm, beautiful morning. As I ran along the main street I window shopped and in the first few blocks there were many antique stores, a pub, coffee shop and a few restaurants. The farther down I got it was more of the industrial area. I decided to turn right on one of the roads and check out the neighborhood area.

The houses were small and not modern like Victoria but they fit perfectly in the little town. The sidewalks had many cracks in them and the curb height was double the height than normal.  It was funny to me to sometimes see where sidewalks had been repaired like random patches in jeans.

IMG_20130505_085911
One of the hills of fun

As I ran along I started to get lost in my tunes and seeing the residential area. I had been running straight for some time and thought I would make my way up another street. I turned right and noticed that it was hilly. All good…never bad to run a hill and challenge myself. It surprised me though to see that it was a hill because I was expecting flat. As I reached the top I then headed down the other side. Once and awhile I would turn left and head up another hill. I was feeling better and it was time for me to start making my way back to our hotel.

IMG_20130505_090010
Our challenge we chose to accept

I got Warren from our hotel room and we headed to the gym. It was a tiny room next to the pool that had an elliptical and a treadmill but no free weights or space to do anything. So, now what? Warren asked if I had seen a park while I was running and I hadn’t but I had seen stairs. He said perfect. I have a workout we can do and asked where they were? I said four blocks down and three up but you know that I don’t have a very good sense of direction. He said just smiled and we went. Well, the stairs were farther away than I had said.

Warren was running the workout so he told me what I was going to be doing. First set of stairs was double toe taps per stair, then single stairs, then ‘hop scotch’ on the stairs and then double stairs running. After those four were done we were to run to the bottom of the hill and then run up it backwards. We were repeating that workout three times.

It was a beautiful morning, I was with Warren and I was doing something I loved. All was right in the world again.

What do you do in the morning when you wake up grumpy? How do you do to make things better in your world?

Leave a Reply

