Paleo eating and runners

My first attempt at making Paleo pizza. It was delish. Sunflower seeds were the crust.
My first attempt at making Paleo pizza. It was delish. Sunflower seeds were the crust.
Crossing the finish line at the GutBuster run
Crossing the finish line at the GutBuster run. Photograph by Esrah Boulton.

It has been a month since Warren and I started eating Paleo and we are enjoying it. We are finding that we are always trying new recipes and it has taken us away from our ‘regular menu’ meals that we would normally have. It has been a good learning and bonding experience for us and we never know what the meal will taste like until the first bite.

I ran a half marathon as part of a triathlon relay team the week we started eating Paleo. Then the following weekend I ran another half marathon and both weekends I felt like I was struggling while running. When I go to run club on Wednesday nights for speed work I don’t have that feeling that I can run ‘fast’ and I am unable to keep pace with Beth. Beth and I typically run the same pace so I know that I can keep up with her.

As we were warming up together a few weeks ago I was telling her how I was feeling and she mentioned that maybe I just needed to let my body rest and recover from the two half marathons and all the running I have been doing this winter. I started to think that she was right but I had taken a few days rest and was changing up from running to riding.

Paleo fish tacos with cauliflower tortillas
Paleo fish tacos with cauliflower tortillas

Then this past weekend Warren and I were chatting about running and he said that he was losing his motivation for it and his runs weren’t enjoyable. He said that he wasn’t feeling fast and that his legs felt tired. Warren is fit and will ride to work a few times a week and also runs so if he was feeling the same way maybe something needs to change.

I described to him that my legs felt like they had cement blocks on them and were really heavy. So, we started to try to figure out why we were feeling this way? Why had we gone from feeling good and fast with running to slow and almost crawling?

Warren did a search online to find out more information about eating Paleo and active people and what they needed daily? Maybe there was something that we were missing that would help us. One of the sites that Warren looked up basically said that active people needed to eat more carbs. We knew that but we thought we were getting carbs even eating Paleo. So, the next question I asked was “What do we eat to get more then?” He mentioned eating more sweet potatoes and adding some rice to more of our meals.

So, my question to you, my readers is: “If you are eating Paleo and you are active or a runner, what do you eat to give you the carbs that you need?”

Leave a Reply

