Ice cream run

Tonight was run club night but it had a twist. Typically on Wednesday nights we do speed work or interval training but tonight we went for an ice cream run.

Ice cream cone
This picture isn’t from tonight’s ice cream run but the top scoop is the same Chocolate Peanut Butter that I had tonight.

We left the Frontrunners store on Goldstream Ave and made our way the long way to Ice Cream Mountain. There was about 10 of us and we all got ice cream cones. When we went to order the guy told us that all cones came with two scoops. That made it easy but figuring out what two was the hardest part. I ordered Sea Salt Caramel and Chocolate Peanut Butter in a waffle cone and both were delicious.

We sat at the tables while we ate and chatted. It was a nice way to get to know some of the other runners that I see on a weekly basis but because we are cruising around a track or sprinting up the Galloping Goose it is hard to chat unless they are your  running partner.

On the way to Ice Cream Mountain Cindy had been running with Mary-Anne. I found out that she has been to past run clubs but I had never met her before. Cindy introduced us and we got to talking. She had just done the Kusam Klimb last weekend and I mentioned to her that I want to do it next year with Warren and Grace. She said it was a great climb and lots of fun.

I also found out that she is here on a residency for the Leadership program at Royal Roads University where I work. So, on the way back from eating our ice cream Mary-Anne and I ran together and chatted about various things like food, school and running. It was nice to get to know her and I am hoping that I will get to see her again at Royal Roads.

So, does your run club do anything fun like this? Or what about you and your friends? Maybe this weekend get some friends together and suggest going for a run or a hike and end it with an ice cream cone.

Leave a Reply

