A Tuesday night and three mountains

Mark & Warren at the top of Mt. Finlayson
Mark & Warren at the top of Mt. Finlayson

On Monday night during a commercial of Amazing Race Canada I checked my Facebook and noticed that my friend Mark had posted that he was going to be doing a mini boot camp of Mt. Finlayson, Mt. McDonald and Mt. Wells and wanted to know if anyone wanted to join him?

I got excited and asked Warren if he wanted to go and he was game. Mark and I messaged back and forth and we made a plan to meet after work last night at 5:15pm. It was a great evening for hiking and a perfect summer evening. Doing all three mountains in one evening was something new for both Warren and I.

Mt. Finlayson was up first. It takes longer to hike than the other two but Warren said it isn’t the tallest of the three. I would have thought that it was but he said that Mt. McDonald is by 10 meters.  We started our watches at the base of the mountain so we could record how fast we got to the top. I took the lead as we made our way up and we arrived at the top in 26: 51. That was the fastest that Warren and I had done it in a while. Mark’s fastest is running up and down in 40 minutes. Full credit to him for running down because I would be too worried about landing my footing on those rocks.

Next mountain up was Mt. McDonald. We drove to it and again started our watches at the

The boys going down Mt. McDonald
The boys going down Mt. McDonald

bottom. The boys took the lead on this mountain and I was good with that. I wasn’t far behind but knew that we had one more mountain after. We hit the top in 21:18 and that was my fastest time yet. There was no getting lost today which was a good thing but could have made for another good story.

Me and the boys on Mt. McDonald
Me and the boys on Mt. McDonald

Our last mountain to hike was Mt. Wells and you can see it from both Finlayson and McDonald. We drove to the parking lot of Mt. Wells and for the last time started our watches and away we went. This time there were two peaks to reach. I didn’t know about the second peak though until Mark mentioned it. It is about another 8-10 minutes walk from the first peak you reach. We arrived in about 26 minutes and I can’t remember the exact time. My legs were tired but I felt good. I was looking forward to getting to the car and going home. I needed a shower and some food. I was hungry!

Overall we climbed 9km with 1100 meters elevation gain. Not bad for 3 hours of fun on three different mountains.

What is your favorite mountain to climb? Have you climbed one or all of three these mountains?

Sunset from Mt. Wells looking over Mt. McDonald
Sunset from Mt. Wells looking over Mt. McDonald
4 thoughts on “A Tuesday night and three mountains

Leave a Reply

