Running the familiar

This morning Warren and I were not feeling very energetic but we knew we needed to do something active. We had taken two days rest but a third day of rest wasn’t in the picture. We decided to run Thetis Lake because we know the trail and you can also change-up the route as well if you want.

We parked the car just off Phelps Road and made our way onto the trail that would bring us out at Upper Thetis. Once at the lake we decided to turn right and ran towards the main beach. There Warren stopped for a quick stretch but I kept going. I made my way up and down the hills and continued on around Lower Thetis back to Upper Thetis. I had decided before I started to run that I was going to do two laps of the lakes and Warren said that he was going to do a figure eight. I met him while running and it was kind of neat to say Hello and keep going. Not sure why but I guess because it was out of the ‘normal.’

I didn’t have my iPod today while running but I didn’t need it. I was distracted by my surroundings and familiar faces. As I ran along I met Jeanette and Marcella who I know from my run club. They were out with a group of their friends and their dogs. I stopped to say a quick Hi and continued on. Β While I ran along I met another lady who was running on her own and we kept exchanging smiles. I met up a few times with other people walking their dogs and enjoying their morning coffees. It was nice to see so many out and a great way to start the day.

imagesOn my second pass of the main beach I saw Patti, who is the Manager at the RRU gym, and one of her friends getting ready to head into the water. I am sure it was for a training swim because I think they have a race coming up at the end of the month. I shouted out a “Hello” and Patti said “Wow, I was just thinking ‘that girl looks so strong’ and then realized it was you.” I told her “Thank you” and continued on. Her comment put a smile on my face and made me feel really good. It stayed with me as I powered my way up the hills again.

We all go through times where we don’t feel very strong or the best about ourselves. Sometimes hearing something as small a compliment can turn our thoughts and day around. I have learned to try to tell someone a compliment when I am thinking it because I know how much they mean to me.

So, today for me even though I like to run a route that isn’t an out and back or just laps of the same route, today running the familiar had a positive twist.

When was the last time you complimented someone? Or received a compliment that put a smile on your face?

5 thoughts on “Running the familiar

  1. Compliments are totally underrated! It can change someone’s day πŸ™‚

    Someone at the gym today asked if I was training for something because of my physique. I think that he was asking it out of curiosity, but I’m going to take that as a compliment lol πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Maybe it was curiosity or his way of starting to chat you up πŸ™‚ Either way…take it and enjoy.

      We now will both have to ‘pay forward’ a compliment.

      Enjoy your evening Grace.

      Like

Leave a Reply

