East Sooke Park hike

IMG_20130831_113015[1]Well, I am a few days late with this post but better late than never. I was off making the most of my four day weekend instead of blogging.

On Saturday morning Tanya and I headed to East Sooke Park to go for a hike. We wanted to test out our backpacks and see if they would be comfortable when we hike the Juan de Fuca Marine trail in a few weeks. I ended up borrowing a pack from my friend Ann and it was comfortable. The pack weighed about 30lbs for this IMG_20130831_103202hike and instead of using rocks like before I put together some of the things that I will take when we go.

The morning was a beautiful one and it wasn’t too hot but it wasn’t cold either. We arrived at the Aylard Farm parking lot a little before 8am and got ready to go. Our plan was to hike to Cabin Point, then Beechy Head, then Becher Bay back to Aylard Farm. As we headed along the trail we were faced with some hills and I don’t mind hill climbs but with the extra 30lbs on my back it made me huff and puff a bit more. Trying to carry on a conversation with Tanya was a bit of a challenge but I made it work because it is hard to get me to stop talking.

About a half hour into the hike I was starting to notice that my legs would start to shake a bit as I went down the hills. I have felt shaky legs in the past but it usually happens after doing something like stair repeats and will occur when I have stopped. It was a new feeling to have it happen while I was walking but I know that it was my body getting used to the extra weight.

As we walked along I asked Tanya two questions that could be useful if we were in an emergency situation. They were “Do you have first aid and do you have allergies to anything?” I figured it was better to ask when you can get an answer instead of finding out when it is too late.

IMG_20130831_085217

We stopped at Beechy Head to have a snack and a bit of a break. We sat on a huge rock overlooking the water and as we were sitting there we saw two sea lions checking out the boats near by. It was really cool to see them because I had only ever seen harbour seals in the water before.

Not long after our break we came to huge rock that was probably about 4 feet high and very wide but it was the only way for us to go. There weren’t really places on the rock that we could grab at the top to help us get over it and there weren’t really any ledges on the side to put our feet on either to help hoist us up. So, we each tackled it in different places but with our packs still on our backs. It was a good thing we didn’t have anyone else around us because we definitely were not graceful or pretty getting up and over it. It did though give us both a great laugh at how hard it was to do it after the fact. We also figured out that taking off our backpacks would have probably made it simpler for us both.

Next funny thing that happened to use was we were looking out at the water and we stopped to see something. When I picked up my foot to  start walking again I stepped in a big pile ofIMG_20130831_110024 something that made my foot slide in it. Even though I had my hiking shoes on that feeling of my foot sliding in something unknown was an awful one. I thankfully though didn’t have flip-flops on because that would have been so much worse. It gave us a good laugh again and Tanya told me that I wasn’t allowed to go first up and over rocks because she wasn’t going to put her hand in whatever that was on my shoe.

IMG_20130831_090241

 

 

 

 

 

The hike took us a little over 3 hours and it was a fun one. We walked it faster than we thought we would and we enjoyed ourselves. I am really looking forward to our hike on the 20th and we have some more training hikes planned in the next few weeks. I am also going to show her Sugar Loaf mountain that Warren and I explored the beginning of August and I am also going to introduce her to the stairs on Veteran’s Memorial Drive that I love so much.

So, our training hike taught us some valuable tips…watch your footing and remove your backpack to get up and over some rocks. What are some things that you have learned when you have trained for something?

 

Leave a Reply

