Bear Mountain 10k race

Yesterday morning Warren and I ran in the Bear Mountain 10k race. It was a perfect morning for a run. The sky was blue, the sun was shining and the air was crisp. We were up early to have our coffee and breakfast. We left the house at 8:00am and we picked up our friend Damian at the bus station. He was running in the half marathon and it started a half hour before our 10k race. A big congrats goes out to him because he ended up being the winner for the half marathon. YAY!

Clear Sky, finish line. Winner Damian of the Half Marathon
Clear sky, finish line. Winner Damian of the Half Marathon

Once we arrived at the Westin Hotel we headed into the Ballroom to get our race bibs and shirts. We mixed and mingled with people and around 9:00am we started to get ready for our run. We headed out with Rich, one of our fellow run club runners to do a warm up run and the made our way to the start line. Tanya was running in this race as well and we met her at the start.

We were told that there were close to 500 people running the 10k race so I wanted to make sure that I was near the front of the pack. I didn’t want to have to weave my way through people even though I know I will get passed by some of the speedier runners. When we arrived at the start line there were a lot of runners already there but they had left a big gap at the front so Warren and I just stayed in the gap. Slowly more people filled it and we were counted down to start.

The sky had turned grey by the time the run started and it was still a bit crisp. I hadn’t raced in a while so I was feeling nervous and also excited as well. I had never raced this run before but knew what I was up against. My hands were a bit cold at the start but soon warmed up.

Ah...done!
Ah…done!

As I ran along I saw people from my run club cheering myself and other runners on. It was nice to see them and it was encouraging. I ran with the same people group of people around me for the entire run. Last year on the Mama Bear hill I won the $100 for the fastest sprint up it and I was hoping to do the same this year but there were two other girls faster than me. As I made the mad dash up the hill though all of the guys that had been running in front of me, I passed. One guys who was always just a few feet ahead of me came up to me at the end of the race said to me “I thought I was running backwards because you went up it so fast. I was impressed.” That made me smile.

My Superstar
My Superstar

I finished the race in a time of 47:35 and was third in my age group. Warren finished his race in a time of 43:03 and was first in his age group. Both of us had successful runs and it was a great day.

Did you take part in the Bear Mountain run? What did you think of the race?

 

4 thoughts on “Bear Mountain 10k race

Leave a Reply

