A blah day made better by running

This morning when I got up my plan was to do a workout that Piper’s Run had shared on her blog a little while ago. It was one that I

View from the office window.
View from the office window.

could do at home since I didn’t feel like running. It was a good way for me to do something when I was having an unmotivated type morning. I made a few changes to it and still felt like a had an OK 25 minute workout. My three sets were like this:

  • 30 jumping jacks
  • 15 squats
  • 30 crunches
  • 1 minute plank
  • 10 push-ups
  • 20 high knees
  • 25 mountain climbers
  • 10 sit ups
  • 30 Russian twists
  • 20 lunges per leg

Once my workout was done I headed upstairs to get ready for work. It was a sunny day but boy the air was crisp. As I headed to work on Huli I could feel my forehead freezing from the cold air. Brrrr. When I arrived at the office I could feel that my legs were cold through my pants so on my way by the kettle I turned it on so I could have some hot water to drink. I always find that drinking something warm will warm me up faster than just having a shower.

As the day went on I was feeling like I should have run this morning and was feeling a bit guilty that I hadn’t. I did say that I would run 5k a day so already I was falling off my challenge and it was only day three. Warren had emailed me to tell me that he was going to go running after work so I asked him if he would pick me up from work on his way home and I would go with him. I let him know that I needed his motivation to get out the door and once I was out I would be good. And that was just the case.

Me as a child outside in the deep snow
Me as a child outside in the deep snow

Once we got home I headed upstairs and put on my fleece lined running pants and my thicker running shirt. I haven’t worn the fleece lined pants running since I first moved to Victoria almost six years ago. You know I find it cold if I am breaking those out for running. As we opened the door to go outside though we both shivered at how cold it felt. It was sitting around zero degrees. We both had our tunes on and tonight wasn’t about being social with one another but just about running.

I let Warren lead the way and I just followed beside him. As we ran along and I felt that cold feeling on my forehead again and on my cheeks. The feeling reminded me of my childhood. I thought about how my Nan would bundle my sister and I up in our  snow suits and we would head outside in snow higher than us and sometimes the car. I remembered the feeling of how the only part of my body that would be cold was my face because it wasn’t covered up. Nan tried to keep the scarves over our faces but we were kids so they never stayed in place for very long.

We came back home feeling good and both happy that we had gone. I felt good because I had kept up my end of the challenge and we ran 5.64km. Perfect! I also feel in a better mood and in a happy place.

When you run in the cold does it remind of you anything?

4 thoughts on “A blah day made better by running

    1. Yes, I wasn’t going to go slow today. Too cold for me now since I have gotten used to Victoria’s warmer temps. It felt refreshing though tonight and just what I needed.

      Like

Leave a Reply

