Easy Saturday

Happy Sunday all. How was your weekend?

Mine was pretty good. I took yesterday as a day away from the computer just to have some down time but I am back today.

Yesterday was an easy day and just enjoying time at home for the most part. I decided for breakfast I would make Warren and I pancakes. I  even added coconut and cinnamon to the batter and then added cut up banana on top. And on mine I did add a bit of peanut butter…mmm. They were very good.

We didn’t have much planned for the day but I had suggested going for a walk in a place that we don’t typically go. Warren suggested Dallas Road which was perfect because we had an errand to run downtown. We parked near Beacon Hill park and headed out. It was a beautiful sunny day for the start of our walk but turned cooler as we made our way back to the car.

View along Dallas Road
View along Dallas Road

I told Warren that I didn’t really want to make our walk an out and back one even though it is nice to walk along the water. He said he though we could make our walk have a destination of the Thrifty’s grocery store and we could grab some lunch. I was good with that since I was getting on the verge of hangry.

W and I
W and I

There were lots of people out running, walking their dogs and just people on coffee dates enjoying the sunshine. It was nice to see so many people.  We made it to Thrifty’s and grabbed the ingredients we needed for dinner last night and then grabbed some sushi. The grocery store we went to is across from the Ross Bay Cemetery and since there weren’t any tables for us to sit at Thrifty’s we decided to walk through the cemetery and find a bench. I had said to Warren that it was probably a bit strange to have lunch in a cemetery but at the same I thought it might be nice for the people who had passed to have some company.

We enjoyed a quick lunch because it was cold and headed back to the car. On the way back to the car though we took a different road that I had never been on. We checked out the different houses and then we passed by a park. The park had a piece of equipment that we don’t find in playgrounds very much now a days. I don’t have an exact name for it but it is like a merry-go-round type thing. You run beside it and gain speed and then you hop on. Or you have someone else push you to make it go faster. That is what Warren did. He pushed it so fast at one point that I thought I was going to fall off. I had to squat down on it as I spun around. It was the best part of my day and so fun being like a kid again.

Ah. Fun times as an adult.
Ah. Fun times as an adult.

When was the last time you played at the park?

7 thoughts on “Easy Saturday

  1. Playgrounds amazing spaces to explore! In my travels across Canada from Ontario to BC I have run or biked through many playgrounds (okay I admit that I have tried the equipment) . I noticed that community playgrounds often reflect the culture and values of the communities. You have equipment that simulates surfing at your Copley Park, minicliming walls in Canmore, family exercise stations in Red Deer, and wooden play forts in Kenora.

    We are never too old to play !

    Like

    1. I have never noticed that with playgrounds before. I will pay more attention next time.

      I like to use playgrounds as a place to workout and use what is there in different ways. It is a nice way to change things up.

      Hope your doing well.

      Like

  2. Sounds like a great day! There are a couple of playgrounds in Tarbert, and having nephews visit means I often have an excuse to enjoy them. That’s a real old school roundabout!

    Like

    1. Do you find with slides though you don’t go down them as fast as you did when you were a kid? and you avoid them if there is a puddle at the bottom of it. But when you were a kid you just went right through the puddle. 🙂

      Your excuses are good ones.

      Like

    1. I don’t have a dog or a 5 year old but I have no problems playing in the park. It makes me think of my childhood and fun times with my sister.

      I loved Disneyland when we went last May and was so excited I looked like a 5 year old as we waited for the gates to open.

      Sounds like you guys have a fun routine.

      Like

Leave a Reply

