My wonderful flex day adventures

Yesterday was my flex day and I didn’t have any plans but it ended up that I had a busy and great day. It was just what I needed after all the things I have been going through since the start of January. I feel like I have been on an emotional roller coaster.

I was up early and spent the morning with Warren before taking him to work. I then headed downtown to Dallas Road to catch the sunrise coming up over the water. The sky was so clear and you could see the mountains perfectly. It was so beautiful and the best way for me to start the day next to a run.

Pink sky and moon
Pink sky and moon
Shoreline along Dallas Road
Shoreline along Dallas Road

 

It looks like a painting. I am still in love with this photo today!
It looks like a painting. I am still in love with this photo today!

Next I met my friend Kim for a coffee date. She works downtown and saw that I was close by after I posted my sunrise picture on Facebook. It was nice to see her because it had been a bit since we had caught up. I then spent a little more time downtown and headed to Mt. Finlayson.

I had packed my trail shoes in the car when I first left the house so I didn’t have to go home. I was thinking that if I went home I might not go and then I would regret it. I had tried to see if a few friends wanted to come with me but they were both busy so I went by myself. When I arrived at the parking lot there were a lot of cars. It was a perfect day to be out hiking so I wasn’t surprised. I changed my shoes, put my iPod on and headed on my way. It felt good to be outside and moving. I have really missed being outside in the morning and have realized that the fresh air first thing in the morning is something I need as part of my day-to-day.

As I headed to the trail head I thought about how this hike would be different. I typically go up and over the mountain and I run down the back side and then run the 3km stretch of road back to the car. Since I am still not running I then tried to figure out what my route would be so I wasn’t tempted to try to run.

Climbing up I was feeling good. Once I got out of the shaded area and more to the rock face of the mountain the sun was shining on my back and felt so good. It was like I was out on a summer’s day and I loved it. Once I reached the top I saw two other girls enjoying the view of Mt. Baker.  The view of the mountain was so clear and the sky had no clouds. I snuck over by them to take a picture for myself and then ended up taking one of them to.

Mt. Baker
Mt. Baker

I had decided that I would go down the back side of the mountain. I had time and wasn’t in a rush to get home. The day was amazing so why not enjoy it. I would just have to have restraint. I turned up my tunes, started signing and away I went. The back side was a bit cooler because it is has more tree growth on it but I soon warmed up. Once I made my way to the road it is all down hill to get to the car. I decided that since there aren’t many people on the road that I would do sit-like lunges down the road. I did this because sometimes when I go down hill I gain momentum and usually run but the sit-like lunges helped me to not.

I made it back to the car and was so happy. I headed home and started to do some baking for my friend Kate’s baby shower today. I had said that I would make cupcakes. I had never made them before but am good at baking so thought I should be able to make them. Well, the vanilla cupcakes turned out pretty good because I used liner in the pan for those but I didn’t for the chocolate ones because the recipe said not to. So, the vanilla ones are going to the shower with me today and the chocolate ones were put into a triffle for my father-in-laws birthday tomorrow. Win win!

Vanilla cupcakes with vanilla frosting
Vanilla cupcakes with vanilla frosting
Triffle just missing the whipping cream
Triffle just missing the whipping cream

Once Warren got home from work we headed downtown to go get a new coffee maker because ours died yesterday morning. That is never a good thing. I then surprised Warren and took us on a random date night at Pizzeria Prima Strada. While we waited for our food to come we made up a list of things that we want to do this year. Now we just have to organize them and the year looks like it will be like a fun one. It was the best way to end a great day.

Our Za
Our Za

Have you sat down with your partner and made a list of things to do together this year? How was your Friday?

6 thoughts on “My wonderful flex day adventures

  1. Sounds like an amazing day off! I’ve been working nights and evenings for the past 2 years, even though I’m not a morning person necessarily, I miss being able to get up early and enjoy a nice long day. Beautiful pictures too!
    I love that you made a list of things to do together, really great idea. I should do this with my boyfriend. We always talk about all of the things we would like to do and places to go, but a list would organize and solidify things a bit more 🙂

    Like

    1. Maybe one summer day just get up early and then head back to bed after seeing a sunrise or something. 🙂

      Warren and I talk about things we want to do and then don’t do them so hopefully this list will help us do it. We just have to set dates and put the list somewhere we can see it or check it easily. Have fun making your list.

      Like

Leave a Reply

