Getting an extra push at run club

Last night was run club night and I was looking forward to going. We had a beautiful day in Victoria and it was almost spring like so the evening wasn’t cold and only required thin gloves and no toque. It was also light out when Warren and I left home to go to Frontrunners and it was still a bit light by the time we reached where we would start our workout. This was a nice feeling to see that the days are getting longer.

As we did our warm up I started running with Jared who has been away from run club for a bit so it was nice to catch up with him. Then I ended up running with Warren which was good because I was chatty last night about work and the day so it was a good time for us to catch up. After our warm up run we did some more warm up drills for our legs and then we started. The workout was 10, 6, 4, 2, 1 minutes of running with two minutes of easier running in between to recover. You were to start at a 15km race pace and gradually build speed to get faster.

Cindy & I
Cindy & I

Last week at run club I ran with Cindy and it was good for me. She is good at keeping a steady pace and that is what I need as I get myself back into running. I also enjoy running with her and it gives us a chance to catch up which I like so it is perfect.

I planned on running with her again last night so I found Cindy in the group and we started the workout. She let me know that I would have to keep time because she had left her watch at home. I was good to do that but about 30 seconds or so into the first ten minutes I looked down and my watch hadn’t started. Thankfully I noticed sooner rather than later. 

We made our way through the workout and gradually got a bit faster like we were supposed to do. Cindy helped to push me along and kept me going because a few times I could feel myself falling back. I found the workout hard which is the point of it I know. If everything was easy than you wouldn’t be getting better and improving yourself. I feel though that because I wasn’t running for a while that my legs should feel like they want to run and should be ready to run but that doesn’t seem to be the case. I also know that because I haven’t been running my body needs time to get back to where it was. I just struggle with waiting a bit and want what I had before. I know in time I will get back there and be stronger because of it.

As we started back to the store I was running with Warren but his pace started to become too quick for me and I fell back. I soon was at the back of the pack shuffling along but then caught up with Cindy again. My legs were tired and it was all I could do not to walk but I just wanted to get back to the store. Once we got there and I found Warren I told him that I was walking home and he was good with that. Phew!

So, overall it was a great night at run club and one I was happy for. So, thank you Cindy for being you and helping me get through the last two run clubs.

Do you have someone to help push you through when you need it? Or are you able to do it all on your own?

PS. It is still not too late to sign up for Around the World Running Blog Relay 2014. You can do so here.

 

 

 

One thought on “Getting an extra push at run club

Leave a Reply

