Runners Routine

My Thorlos socks and New Balance race flats...same every race.
My Thorlos socks and New Balance race flats…same every race.

This past Sunday Warren and I ran the Bazan Bay 5k in Sidney. It was the fifth race out of eight in the Vancouver Island Running Series. When I think of a 5k race I think of it as fast and light feeling legs or at least I hope I will feel that way. I also think to myself that it is only 20 minutes and I can do anything for 20 minutes. Well, on Sunday that was not the case for me. I didn’t feel either of those things and it was the longest feeling run.

A typical race morning for us starts off with having two cups of coffee. I make us oatmeal or steel-cut oats with nuts and fruit for our first meal. Then around 9:00am we have a piece of toast with peanut butter or in Warren’s case cashew butter.

When we got up on Sunday I pretty much followed the same routine but I did make a few changes. I didn’t have steel-cut oats and just had cereal with almond milk. I also had an English muffin with peanut butter instead of one piece of toast. Was that my problem and why I had heavy and tired feeling legs?

As I got dressed for the race I put on the same running pants, sports bra, t-shirt, socks and race flats. I packed my bag with the same after race gear that I always wear. Everything is the same on race day race after race. Why is that? I don’t wear the same thing every Monday or any other day of the week. As I got ready for the race I wondered “Does everyone think I only own two t-shirts and two pairs of pants?” because that is all they ever see me in. While waiting for the ribbons and draw prizes to be given away I started to notice that I am not the only one who wears the same thing.

It seems all runners do it because I recognized their same race outfit and their same after race gear. What is it about us that makes us have to wear the same thing at a race or to even put on the same thing after one? What we eat before a run I can understand because we know what works for our bodies and fuels us for it.Β It is an interesting thing to me and something that makes me happy to know that I am not the only one.

Even though I didn’t have a fast feeling race that I was hoping for I still ended up placing 10th for my age group. Not sure how I did that because the race had over 600 people in it. Warren placed 9th in his age group and had a great run.

Do you wear the same thing for every race you go to? Do you eat the same thing before a race?

21 thoughts on “Runners Routine

  1. I always eat the same thing before a race. I change things up with what I wear though, however, I always wear the same white hat that is not so white anymore. I’ve worn that thing since 2008. I did find a new version of it and have yet to wear it. I’m crazy about that old smelly hat.

    Like

  2. Steel cut oats are probably a more complex carbohydrate than just cereal – which basically means more energy for running πŸ™‚ It also might have something to do with what you eat the night before? Gotta load up on carbs to increase the glycogen in your muscles for a swift race! Maybe have a banana right before a race? That was my go-to snack for quick burning carbs and lots of energy for kickboxing.

    I used to wear the same thing out every Friday night in high school to parties, haha! It took me months to realize that everyone probably thought I just had one shirt. Oh man.

    Like

  3. I think a lot of people wear the same thing to race each time! It’s usually your most comfortable items, favorite colors, or something that makes you feel fast right! I always eat the same foods before races bc I know what works. I wish I could do coffee before but then I’d be searching for a porta potty in the middle of the race, even a 5k! I don’t think your food changes would affect your legs– the fear in changing foods pre-race is usually upsetting your stomach, not your muscles!

    Like

  4. Congratulations on placing! I’m also a creature if habit, though I do change up my running outfits. If I didn’t, I’m sure folks reading my blog post would also think I had only one set of running gear! Lol!

    Like

    1. It’s a good thing I don’t post many pictures of myself running then cause I would have folks thinking what you said. haha But now they know.

      I was happy about placing since the run didn’t feel like it was ‘place’ worthy. An extra perk.

      Like

  5. Congratulations! I don’t change up my breakfast on race day, and I pretty much wear whatever I have clean! I’m usually a little anxious before a race so my goal is to just be as comfortable as possible πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. I don’t typically change up my breakfast but I did that day. We also usually have pasta the day before and we didn’t so maybe that was part of why I didn’t have a good run? Or maybe it was just not my day….so many variables.

      Being comfortable is key! I like to stick with the same clothes cause I know they are just that.

      Like

      1. Yeah, it could be a lot of things. I try to tell myself I can’t get a personal best EVERY time I go out for a run or a race. As long as you are out there running and doing what you love, that’s what really matters πŸ™‚

        Like

  6. Congratulations on placing! It’s so funny how running is so unpredictable. I guess that’s what makes it interesting and fun though. I haven’t really been wearing the same thing to race lately (except the same shorts), but it’s only because I’m still fairly new at running so I keep learning new things about apparel/fueling along the way.

    Like

    1. It seems like some of us do wear the same things and some of us don’t. As soon as you find that one piece of clothing that doesn’t work you won’t make the mistake again. Even underwear is critical to get right. ha!

      Hope your feeling good after your run and the knee is still good.

      Like

  7. W’ll done!
    Runners really are all creatures of habit, aren’t we. Actually, it’s funny you posted this as writing something about race/running routines has been on my list of blog topics for a while now – great minds think alike!

    Like

    1. Thanks. And great minds do think alike.
      Sometimes I think it is funny when I write about something and then I see a post about it come up in my feed.

      Hope all is well.

      Like

Leave a Reply

