Running in Portland

While Warren and I were in Portland over the Easter long weekend we ran two times and we walked I don’t know how many miles each day exploring. I should have had my Garmin watch running to track the distance just to see. As it was we still didn’t see everything that Portland has to offer.

The first morning after we arrived we got ready to go for a run. Reni had mention there was a nice route along the water to run so we stopped by the front desk our hotel to find out which direction to go. We were told it was a pretty 3 mile loop and he was right. The sun was out and it was a good temperature for a running.

Once our watches found GPS we were off. As we weaved our way to the water I felt happy. I get a high I guess you could say from running in a new place because I am distracted by all the new things I see. It is like I forget that I am running. Also, Warren and I run together which is something we don’t often do at home and his way we get to explore together. He also then knows I will get back to the hotel since my sense of direction is not the best.

As we ran along the waterfront there were a few people out riding their bikes and some were running. There were people in their boats on the water fishing and also some kayakers making the most of the calm morning. It was great to see such an active city. I wished I had brought my phone to capture it all but on the last day when we went out again I took my phone and this is what I captured.

View of the waterfront and where the Saturday market takes place.
View of the waterfront and where the Saturday market takes place.
Pretty.
Pretty.
Bridge going up to let a boat go through.
Bridge going up to let a boat go through.
Warren told me that locks on a bridge symbolized eternal love. I liked that.
Warren told me that locks on a bridge symbolized eternal love. I liked that.
We added a few stair repeats into our run as well.
We added a few stair repeats into our run as well.

 

Do you enjoying running and walking in new places? Do you take your phone or camera with you when you run?

5 thoughts on “Running in Portland

  1. Sounds like you had a lovely vacation. I love to explore new places! (I wish you had a “like” button for your posts on your new site)

    Like

    1. Hi Tina,
      Where was your favorite place to explore? I have enjoyed running in Hawaii a few years ago and I think Portland would be up there with it.
      Thanks for stopping by.

      Kyla

      Like

  2. I love running in new places. I’m doing lots if ‘destination’ races this year so lots of new places to explore. I always have my phone with me when I run so I’ll use it to take pics if I come across something interesting 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

