Final Recap of Around the World Running Blog Relay

Well, March and April flew by and the kilometers added up for the 42 of us taking part in the Around the World Running Blog Relay.

I want to say thank you to everyone who participated and I hope you had as much fun as I did. I enjoyed learning more about you and you motivated me. I see more destination races in my future and I hope to meet more of you in time. Also, if you are ever headed my way please let me know.

This relay brought together a few bloggers in different areas. I met Kate and Reni for the first time and I know Amanda because she is my neighbor. Allison and Julia met for the first time through this relay. Allison and Danielle had met before but then reconnected at a running event. Below is a picture Allison took for me.

Danielle and Allison
Danielle and Allison

So, for the last two months we have ran 10911.35km. Way to go everyone!

We have traveled all the way from Victoria to a little bit past Coldbook, Nova Scotia. I find that pretty neat because I was born and raised in Nova Scotia.

Since our last stop we made it to see:

  • Judith D in Saratoga Springs, New York
  • Tara P in Essex Junction, Vermont
  • Lisa O in South Setauket, New York
  • Anna S in Coldbrook, Nova Scotia
  • and we are on our way to the United Kingdom.

Warren let me know if I had tracked the kilometers on the map “as the crow flies” from Victoria we would have traveled to Cairo, Egypt.

It was suggested that we continue to keep the relay going until we reach everyone and I am happy to continue to track your distance on the map. I will send out the email requesting your kilometers at the end of May and we can go from there. If you decide that you don’t want to be part of it no worries and just let me know.

Thanks again everyone and great job!

14 thoughts on “Final Recap of Around the World Running Blog Relay

  1. It’s amazing to see that we ran a fantastic 10000 kilometres together in two month! It’s been so lovely to run with so many other people from all over the world. I’m happy to keep going – it’ll be great to see how long it’ll take us before you all come to visit me in Scotland! Once again, thank you so much for organising this, Kyla!

    Like

    1. Happy to do some of the leg work 🙂

      I am happy it has connected me with so many new people on various social media networks as well as their blogs. It is fun getting to know how we are similar no matter where we all live in the world.

      Thanks for running so much Julia. Best of luck in your races!

      Like

  2. That’s quite the distance, WTG everybody! The summer months are harder for me to keep up with training, so I will jump back on the ATWRBR in June. Keep it up joggers, our success depends on it 🙂

    Like

    1. Eunice, you are still more than welcome to submit whatever you did do in May if you want. Even 2k is better than none. Just putting that out there. Thanks for being part of #ATWRBR. I hope you and I get to meet soon since we are in the same city.

      Good luck with your marathon training! You got this!

      Like

  3. It was fun! And helped keep me going despite not have a race to train for currently. That would be great to do a destination race with you! And you’re always welcome to come run one in Dallas!

    Like

    1. It is now on my bucket list. Warren was checking out the Goofy Challenge the other night…so you never know. He asked me what I wanted to do for my 40th birthday…still 3.5 years away and I said I want to run the Paris Marathon. So, maybe for my 38th we could do Goofy. 🙂 Gotta take time to plan and I also still need to get my heel feeling better. 😦

      Like

  4. I like the valuaboe info you supply to your articles.
    I will bookmark your blog and check once mmore right here frequently.

    I am slightly sure I will be told many new stufvf right right here!
    Best of luck for the next!

    Like

Leave a Reply

