Chateau Beattie workout

Yesterday I went for a 10k trail run with some friends from my run club and we explored the trails of Thetis Lake. It was fun and I got to see some new to me trails around the lake which is always fun. I love exploring.

Today is a grey day in Victoria but it isn’t raining which is nice. I am headed to yoga in a little bit with Cindy but I wanted to do some strength training. I made up a workout on my sticky pad and then asked Warren if he wanted to join me. We headed downstairs to our entertainment room and brought out our skipping ropes, rocks, exercise bands and our new addition to our home gym, the 4L milk jugs with water in them.

I had originally thought that we would do sets of each exercise but Warren suggested doing the exercises timed. That was good with me so I used the interval timer on my phone. We had 40 seconds to do each exercise and then we had a 10 second rest in between to get ready for the next one. We warmed up by skipping in our back yard and the we did three rounds of the following:

  • shoulder press with rocks or milk jugs
  • side lunges with one rock or milk jug
  • push-ups
  • squats with one rock or milk jug
  • jumping jacks or skipping
  • seated row with band
  • crunches or sit-ups
  • plank

It was a good little workout and we felt the burn in all the right places.

Warren doing a shoulder press with milk jugs.
Warren doing a shoulder press with milk jugs.
Me doing a row with the elastic bands.
Me doing a seated row with the elastic bands.

Do you do at home workouts? What have you used as weights if you don’t have dumbbells?

2 thoughts on “Chateau Beattie workout

Leave a Reply

