ForgetMeNot Ridge Hike

On Friday Grace, Warren and I left Calgary at 7:00am and headed about an our south of Calgary just past Bragg Creek to Kananaskis Country. We were headed to hike ForgetMeNot Ridge.

As were arrived Grace pointed out the mountain we would be hiking. It looked like it was a long ways away and crazy high. It would definitely be a kind of hike I had never done before.

When Grace told us about the hike she mentioned that there would be a little river that we could cross and we would have to take off our shoes to cross it. She mentioned it would be cold and Warren and I were already dreading the idea. We are not fans of cold water at all, even just our feet being in it. That is kind of funny because when I was a kid I used to swim in the ocean. Oh how we change with age.

The river we had to cross to get to the bottom of the mountain.
The river we had to cross to get to the bottom of the mountain.
Getting ready to cross...SO. COLD.
Getting ready to cross…SO. COLD.

I had packed a Quest Bar, some water and my phone so I could take pictures as we went along. Grace said the hike would be a few hours just to get to the top.

Once we got to the base of the climb it just got steeper and steeper. About an hour and a half into it the climb flattened out for a bit but then climbed again.

Cool art work on our way up.
Cool art work on our way up.
It sounded like we were walking on glass...but it was rock.
It sounded like we were walking on glass…but it was rock.

The view all the way to the top was something else and I just took it all in. I was quiet on the hike and found it tough but really enjoyed it at the same time. I had always wanted to walk along the top of a mountain. Something now marked off my bucket list.

Have you ever been on a hike where the rocks sounded like broken glass under foot?

Or have you hiked to the top of mountain and walked along the ridge?

Warren and I at the top!
Warren and I at the top!

 

One thought on “ForgetMeNot Ridge Hike

  1. Wow, looks like a tough hike, but the views are worth it! I have surprisingly sensitive feet, so I don’t do much barefooting.
    I don’t think I’ve been on a rocky trail like that in a long long time – all dirt around here.

    Like

Leave a Reply

