No Excuses. Moving forward.

This year has been about running and yoga but today I made a scary step in the right direction. I went to my first boot camp class at Royal Roads on my lunch break. You may be asking ‘Why that is scary?’ It’s scary because neither Kelly or I could remember the last time I was at one of her classes. I know it has been more than a year.

I used to be very diligent with strength training and I would do my own workouts at the gym. I loved it. I then met Grace and she and I started training together while she was a student at Royal Roads. It took me some time to adjust to having a partner to train with because I had been on my own for so long. After a couple years Grace then moved to Calgary and I slacked off. I have done just about everything I could to avoid going back. Or I would go back to the gym and then feel lost at what I was supposed to do so would stop again.

I knew that there were lunch time classes that took place at the gym but I came up with many excuses as to why I couldn’t go. Even though it is a five minute run from my office.

Reasons:

  • I needed to be at my desk for the students in case they had questions on their lunch break.
  • It’s raining. It’s cold. I’m tired.
  • When the students weren’t on campus: I have scheduled a walk for that day with someone so I can’t.
  • I am training for a marathon so I can’t have sore and tired legs from squats and lunges.
  • I’m embarrassed because I am not what I used to be.
  • And they went on.

Well, today I am stopping the excuses. It was raining when I went to the class but it was refreshing. Before class I got to be social and catch up with some ladies I hadn’t seen for awhile. Once in the gym I saw everyone getting their mats and weights together. That made me start to feel nervous.

Kelly was writing the workout on a white board and it was all upper body exercises. I feared looking weak and I questioned if I was even going to be able to do what she had written. I wanted to leave but I didn’t. Instead I made myself smarten up and ask myself why I went to the class? I was there because I want to feel stronger. I know that I have a weak upper body and core because I haven’t been training it. Walking away wouldn’t get me stronger. I made myself realize that can’t get myself to the “old me” I was a few years ago but I can work towards a new me.

First up on the list was 50 cobra pushups. OH GOSH! And it just continued on. I made my way through the workout and felt my arms starting to shake after the first round of four exercises. I wondered how I was going to make it through but I broke each exercise down into segments. If I had 50 or 20 to do I would count out 10 at a time. If I had 10 to do I counted out 5. I made it through all excerises but two. My arms just wouldn’t support me for the last push ups and plank up and downs. I feel ok with that though. I gave it my all and I am certain I will struggle to lift my mug to get coffee to my mouth tomorrow morning. 

So I can avoid excuses I have asked my co-worker to cover lunch breaks on Monday’s so I can attend the boot camp class when the students come back to campus in a few weeks. She has agreed so unless something out of my control comes up I am good to go. I am also not training for anything at the moment so that can’t be an excuse. I proved today that even going in the rain isn’t awful so that can’t be a reason either.  HA!

I know that I have to start small and having someone tell me what to do will be the best for me. It gives me structure to go to class and allows me to build myself back up slowly. I know that I have to be the one to make the change and others can’t get me there. I am happy I went today and as much as it was hard it felt good to be back.

So, if any of you are out there thinking: “I can’t do this or that.” or “I am not what I used to be.” remember…you can and you aren’t. You are working towards a new and better you!

What have you said you can’t do or what have you avoided for some reason?

 

 

2 thoughts on “No Excuses. Moving forward.

Leave a Reply

