Boston Training 2016: Week 2 & 3

I didn’t get around to posting about my training last week because I was busy being social and enjoying Christmas. I am sure you didn’t miss my post though because I am assuming the majority of you did the same. If you were on social media you were probably looking at posts of families and friends, food and drink and fun.

I am happy that my training plan started over the holidays because it kept me accountable.

Week 2: Fun times running with friends.

Monday – I ran with Sue for our early bird run.

Wednesday – It was run club night and it was POURING down rain. There were only four of us who showed up. We actually debated going for a drink instead but we stayed accountable. I think we did the shortest warm-up/cool down in run club history.

Soaking wet but happy runners!
Soaking wet but happy runners!

Thursday – Christmas Eve – Warren had an errand to do so we ran to the store so I could complete my shake out run. It was slippery underfoot but the sun was shining.

Saturday – 16 km that was 17 km -I ran with Karen and James. It was a speedy run and we averaged under a 5 minute/km. This is funny because I had been told earlier in the week, by someone in the photo, that my long runs needed to be slow. 😉

Total distance for the week: 40.58 km

 

James, Karen and I
Speed demons

 

Week 3: A tiny blip in the schedule

Monday – I went for a solo run…or at least, I think I went solo. And no, I didn’t have too many glasses of wine over the holidays.

Wednesday – Blip Day. Warren and I went to the big city and I was quite excited about running in Burnaby as I had never run there before. As I started to get dressed though I realized that I hadn’t packed my pants. Being the early bird that I am I was getting ready to go for a run around 7:30 am and the stores didn’t open until 10:00 am.  We didn’t have the time for a run later so instead we got ready to go to breakfast.

Thursday – This is where I made up for the missed run on Wednesday. I knew the speed workout that Nick had the group do on Wednesday so I did it on my own. Warren joined me but just did his own run and we met each other on my cool down back to the car.

 

20151231_091414
Smiling faces

 

Friday – New Year’s Day – We went to Mt. Manual Quimper with some of our friends for a trail run. It was a nice to spend part of the day with them and we even got to make our way through some snow.  Warren and I only went to the top of Quimper and headed down where the other runners stayed and played longer. It was a great way to start 2016.

20160101_113704

Saturday – 18km – I headed out solo. I mapped a route before I left home so I could just run and not spend time looking at my watch. It was a cold run morning.

Total distance for the week: 45.98km

I decided that I would share the distance I am running each week because I remember being asked last year as I trained. I hadn’t actually taken note of what I was running but since I can track it all through my Garmin Connect I can share the information easily. Seeing the distance each week will be interesting for me as well.

Overall I am feeling good about my runs and learning lots from runners who have already attended the Boston Marathon. They are helping me to learn how I can possibly improve my time and how running long, slow runs are really what I need to do. It was recommended that I slow my pace by at least 10-15 seconds per kilometer so I tried to do that on Saturday when I ran alone.

Other news…I have a ‘niggle’, as Allison and Jayne say. It is in two of my toes on my left foot and I am not sure what is wrong. It is worrying me a bit but I am calling Parkway Physiotherapy Monday to see if my guru, Steph, can see me soon and get me sorted. I struggle running right now the shorter distances and I don’t want to be running a marathon feeling how I do now. Screen Shot 2016-01-03 at 5.55.20 PM

Do you wait before getting your ‘niggles’ looked at? Do you go to the doctor first or right to physio, chiro or acupuncture?

Have you ever left a piece of your workout gear at home when you were away? What did you do?

 

8 thoughts on “Boston Training 2016: Week 2 & 3

  1. I hope that niggle is something that settles soon. I usually give mine a week or so and if I don’t feel better, head for the physio/podiatrist/massage therapist. I’d rather lose a small amount of training early on that be out for ages later. Keep us posted on your progress.

    Like

    1. Thanks. I have waited a bit now and since the discomfort level has changed I think I need to see someone. I have an appointment on Friday morning. Happy about that because I thought I may have had to wait due to the holidays and all.
      Hope you find out news soon about your foot.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Eeep! I hate getting niggles! Last year I was guilty of ignoring them on two occasions and both resulted in injuries lasting about 6 weeks each 😦
    All I can say is don’t ignore your niggles! get them looked at asap!

    PS I am excited to read about your training journey for Boston – so so cool 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks Jes. I was able to schedule an appointment for Friday morning. Happy I was able to get in so soon after the holidays and all. I have learned from experience waiting doesn’t do us runners good.
      Happy to hear you will be following my journey. I’m excited to see what my second marathon is like.

      Like

Leave a Reply

