Boston Training 2016: Week 13 & 14 – Mind Games

Did ya miss me? I didn’t write last week because I wasn’t feeling inspired to write. Instead, I spent time with Warren being very productive at home. We placed some things for sale online and did some spring cleaning. It felt good because I love getting rid of things. As a kid, I used to collect things but as I now that I am older I get the urge to purge. Look out when that happens because nothing is safe in our house. I would love to live in one of those tiny houses.

So, the last two weeks have been pretty good running wise but my brain is working over time. I have 30 days left until race day or as Coach Sue called it on Thursday…my victory lap.

In week 13 I started to doubt my training after reading various blog posts from those who have trained for marathons or who have run Boston before. I had many questions going through my head and these are just a few.

  • Am I logging enough distance each week?
  • Am I running enough hilly routes?
  • Will my legs be ready for the downhill?
  • Can I maintain my goal pace?
  • Do I want to run Boston as a race?

Between Warren and Sue, they helped to put my mind at ease. They both reassured me that I used the same marathon training plan for my first marathon and I was successful. The fact that I am going to Boston is proof. I am happy I have them to ground me when my mind works over time.

20160318_075458.jpg

I am starting to look at Boston with a new perspective and it is making me feel better. I am slowly but surely getting through the book Marathon Woman and still loving it. I read it most nights before bed so that means I don’t get too far before I start to fall asleep.

I had a massage this past week which was very much needed. I hadn’t had my legs worked on since I started my training in December so her touch was a hurt so good. I did mention to Sumitra that I ran into a pole a few weeks ago and that my chest was very sore when running. It then caused knots in my shoulder blades because my body went into protect mode so to speak when I run. She tackled the knots and felt bad for me as soon as she felt them. I had been using a tennis ball to try and release them but apparently without success by the way they hurt when she dug into them. Once I turned over she started to massage the area when I told her it hurt. We could hear a creaking like noise in my chest and let me know that I had separated the cartilage from my ribs. Yay me!

She tackled the knots and felt bad for me as soon as she felt them. I had been using a tennis ball to try and release them but apparently without success by the way they hurt when she dug into them. Once I turned over she started to massage the area when I told her it hurt. We could hear a creaking like noise in my chest and let me know that I had separated the cartilage from my ribs. Yay me!

It’s been four weeks of pain and I would strongly suggest avoiding poles my running friends!

I went back to yoga this week after some time off and some yoga poses are difficult. I asked the instructors for help to modify the poses but I felt like I stuck out like a sore thumb because I wasn’t doing what the others were. I was reassured by Darci on Friday morning that there are lots of students in the class who have to modify poses. I also know that people don’t spend time looking at what each person is doing in the class so I am my own worst critique.

I am learning about myself and even though some days my mind works harder than others to try and figure things out I know on race day what will be will be. A marathon, 42.2km is an unknown beast even with all the best training done in your favorite sneakers.

Sunday, Warren and I are headed up island to run the Comox RV Half Marathon that is part of the VIRA series. I didn’t take part in my long run with my group today so I could run it all on Sunday. I have mapped out 15km to run that will have me arriving at the start line roughly 10 minutes before the race start. I will then run the race as the rest of my run. I have no expectations but just to complete the 36km run.

fb_img_1458175195309.jpg

Total distance for week 13: 66.44km

Total distance for week 14: 39.08 + 36km Sunday = 75.06km roughly

Who helps to ground you when your mind wanders?

Have you run a part of your long run as a race?

 

 

5 thoughts on “Boston Training 2016: Week 13 & 14 – Mind Games

  1. I hope you ran well in the Half Marathon! I suspect that by the time you read this you will have run it anyway! The biggest thing I’ve learned in marathon running is to be flexible with your goals so allow yourself to regress them as well as progress them where necessary. I would encourage you to follow your own line of Run Your Run when Boston comes around and run to how you feel on the day and focus on feeling in control all the way round. I plan to do that in Paris. If you run comfortably, push on when the time is right and give it 100%, you know you can’t do any better and so therefore you haven’t failed. Without any pressure, you might be able to run better than what you had anticipated anyway 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I can’t even wrap my head around running my first full 🙂 Last year I was so gung-ho to sign up and train but my hamstring injury prevented that. Now I’m just to scared and want to get through a FULL cycle of a half without any hamstring issues before thinking about a full.
    Hope the half was fun this weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sounds like you are training and preparing the right way Anna. Get a half marathon or even a couple half marathons under your legs again. Maybe two back to back, well with training for a second in between and see how your body holds up? Just a thought.
      The half was a learning curve and one I am happy for. I see clearly…or clearer now.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

